

## **NOTIFICATION OF RESTRICTED FIRE SEASON**

(Imposed Pursuant to section 22(2) of the Forest and Rural Fires Act 1977)

## CHRISTCHURCH CITY RURAL FIRE AREA INCLUDING BANKS PENINSULA

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to Section 22 (2) of the Forest and Rural Fires Act 1977 a Restricted Fire Season is imposed by the Christchurch City Council over the rural area for which the Council is the Fire Authority, for the period midnight Saturday, 20 December 2014 until further notice.

The rural area for which the Council is the Fire Authority under the Forest and Rural Forest Act 1977 covers all of the district administered by the Council as territorial authority pursuant to the Local Government Act 2002 (i.e. the City of Christchurch) except:

- The Christchurch, Brooklands, New Brighton, Sumner, Lyttelton, Diamond Harbour, Governors Bay, Little River and Akaroa Urban Fire Districts established under Section 26 of the Fire Service Act 1975; and
- State areas and any associated Fire Safety Margin administered by the Department of Conservation.

## Please note:

- The restriction does not apply to barbeques (in enclosed containers) lit on a property serviced by a domestic water supply.
- 2. During a restricted fire season it is an offence to light any fire in the open air unless a permit has been obtained from the Christchurch City Council. Applications for permits may be made to the Christchurch City Council, Civic Offices, 53 Hereford Street, Christchurch (telephone o3 941 8999). Please allow at least three working days prior to burn date to allow for time for site inspection and issue of permit.
- 3. Any permit issued is not a legal defence to claims for damage which may arise from the fire. The responsibility for its control and the liability for any damage which might arise lie with the person lighting the fire.
- The continuation of the restriction will be constantly monitored and any alteration will be publicly notified.

Darrin Woods
PRINCIPAL RURAL FIRE OFFICER
CHRISTCHURCH CITY COUNCIL